Wreck-It Ralph

Wreck-It Ralph
Wreck-It Ralph Movie Poster

I rented Wreck it Ralph a couple days ago. It was a Disney movie I hadn’t seen yet and I was interested in watching it. From what I’d heard it seemed like a cute movie. Unfortunately, I was extremely disappointed with the movie.

The film is set in a gaming arcade and after the arcade is closed for the day the characters within the games come to life. The game characters can travel between the arcade games as well.

The main character, named Ralph, is the bad-guy in the game called Fix-It Felix. He never gets any credit for the buildings that he wrecks, while Felix (the good guy of the game) always gets credit and praise for his fixing. Ralph doesn’t have any friends, and lives alone in the garbage dump. Felix lives in the luxurious penthouse with his friends. Ralph longs to be the good guy in a game and be appreciated.

Ralph decides to make a deal with the tenants of the Penthouse. If Ralph can get a gold medal, the medal being awarded to the good guy at the end of each game, then he can live with everyone in the Penthouse. Ralph sets out to win himself a medal, and in the process he lets out a dangerous enemy.

I will admit that Wreck-it Ralph had some cute features to it. The guards of the candy castle were Oreo cookies, and they were chanting: “Or-e-o. Ohhhh. Or-e-o. Ohhhh.”
I was also impressed how they had a Diet Coke pond with hanging mento candies over it. If a candy fell in, the diet coke would shoot up, like when you drop a mento mint into a bottle of Coke.

There were several things I didn’t like in this movie. First, I didn’t like that when Ralph went to a bad-guy group, Satan was there. I could understand how they were all villains, but I didn’t care for them putting Satan into a child’s film. It just didn’t seem right to me.

Later on in the movie, there was potty humor. I find potty humor inappropriate and didn’t like that either.

In addition to the enemy that Ralph let loose, there is later discovered that there is another villain as well. I found this second villain a little weird looking; he looked like a clown with a long neck with a body of a bug. It was weird. And the villain was just evil.

I thought bringing the video game characters to life was very cute. The idea was very similar to Toy Story, but it had its own spin to it. The characters from the games all had different graphics from the earlier games to the more high definition games. It was impressive how much detail the put into the movie.
But, as I said before, I was extremely disappointed with this movie. I won’t be watching it again.

What are your thoughts on Wreck it Ralph?

 

 

Save

4 thoughts on “Wreck-It Ralph

  1. charity December 7, 2013 / 10:21 pm

    Aww… snap! My kids watched this with a baby sitter… fail, huh? :/

    Like

  2. Emma December 12, 2013 / 4:21 pm

    Sorry, Charity!

    Like

  3. Biz December 27, 2013 / 8:46 pm

    It wasn’t my favorite, but I liked it okay. 🙂 I thought the whole story was rather weird, and the little girl in the Candy game was annoying. It definitely wasn’t one of Disney’s greatest.

    Like

  4. Koren Elise January 21, 2014 / 12:46 am

    I think it’s a pretty nuovely movie, but it could have been even better without those things you pointed out. Luovely review – as always. 🙂

    Like

Care to comment? Feel free!

