Girls Craft Club – GCC

GCC Cake I made for a snack at one point
GCC Cake I made for a snack at one point

This post is going to be about a club that I formed and was a part of for several years. I called it Girls Craft Club – or GCC for short. I encourage other girls (or guys) to start clubs like this as well! It doesn’t matter what age you are, getting together with friends and being a part of a “club” is still fun.

 

I formed Girls Craft Club in 2011. The idea was for girls to have a chance to get together regularly with their friends, a chance to get to know each other and have a good time. The idea was simple. Once a month I would invite my friends over, we would do a craft, have a snack and then play some games inside, or if the weather permitted, outside. So I could easily contact everyone, I created an email loop that everyone was invited to, and through it I could email all the details about the exact date and if they needed to bring any supplies. The time we met was 1pm (after lunch) until 4pm.

 

It was a huge hit. I loved it and it was so much fun to be able to get together with my friends once a month. The crafts I chose I got off Pinterest (Pinterest is probably one of the best places to get craft ideas from, I highly recommend it.), and I tried to keep the cost of supplies pretty low considering that I didn’t have a big budget. Some of the things that we’ve done include making stepping stones, chocolate covered pretzels (which were so delicious we did these a few times), cards when people were sick or needed encouragement and a lot more.

 

After the craft, which generally took an hour or so to complete, we had a snack. (Unless we made something edible, in which case we just ate our craft :)) For the snack we had crackers and cheese or cookies or popcorn or something else of the sort. Munchies, really. After our snack we played games like Capture the Flag or volleyball – anything we were interested in. Soon it was four and time for my friends to depart. They brought their crafts home with them and we all were very eager for next month’s meeting. 🙂

 

So that was GCC in a nutshell. After doing it for several years I finally ran out of crafts to do within my pricerange, and we were all moving on with our lives. I decided to officially end Girls Craft Club, although we all promised to keep getting together to hang out or playing some games.

 

As I said before, I encourage you all to think about starting a club of your own. Maybe you could form the next GCC or maybe you could think of something entirely on your own. Either way, I’m going to try and post regularly about the crafts we did so you could gather ideas for your own club, or maybe your just a really crafty person and you’d be interested in trying some. Let me know if you have any questions about GCC that I may be able to answer, or if you’re going to start a club of your own! 😀

 

I hope you enjoyed the post, and have a wonderful day! Thanks for stopping by.

Save

4 thoughts on “Girls Craft Club – GCC

  1. Annalise H. June 9, 2014 / 1:35 pm

    That’s so cool Emma!!! We did a thing similar to that, but once a week with some homeschool gals, and we did a Bible study as well!! But then the people hosting it moved away, so it fell apart after that. GCC sounds so fun!

    Like

  2. Kendall Hunnicutt June 12, 2014 / 8:29 pm

    AWESOME EMMA! XD (h5) That sounds so awesome and fun!!

    Date: Mon, 9 Jun 2014 15:19:22 +0000 To: kenni_h@outlook.com

    Like

  3. Koko :) July 2, 2014 / 4:14 am

    What a great idea! 🙂 That is so cool that it lasted for so long, and who knows, maybe one day the doors might be opened to start it again. 🙂 ❤ Thank you for inspiring me to start my own GCC. ❤ xxx

    Like

    • Emma July 2, 2014 / 8:16 am

      You’re welcome, Koko!

      Like

Care to comment? Feel free!

