The New Year, The Hobbit, and Books. Lots and Lots of Books.

Merry Christmas (a week late or a year early, whichever you prefer) and Happy New Year! It’s 2015! I love watching the clock turn from 11:59pm to 12:00am. And now I have to retrain myself to write ’15 instead of ’14. There’s so many things to look forward to this year. Spring. And summer. And winter again. And another New Year…but let’s not get ahead of ourselves here. It’s January, it’s 2014 (I mean 2015). It’s a brand new year, full of blessings and adventures and just…amazingness in itself. πŸ˜€

Everyone talks about having resolutions for New Years, and I really don’t have any in mind. Nothing that I wasn’t trying to do before the new year, anyways. XD I do have a goal, though. What’s that, you ask? Well, I’m glad you asked!

My goal for 2015 is to read 100 books in a year. I love to read. So I’m excited. Who wouldn’t want to try and read 100 books in 12 months? πŸ˜€ I’m kicking it off by reading The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien. And, as big a fan I am of the movies (which, by the way, I went to see The Hobbit: Part Three: Battle of the Five Armies in theaters, and it was magnificent. Ahhhhhhh.) I have never…actually…read…the…books…. :O

I know! I know! But I’m going to change that, starting…well, starting December 30, 2014. (wow that seems like so long ago now.) I actually sorta cheated on the 100 books for 2015 thing, (because technically I shouldn’t have started until today, Jan 1) and started the Hobbit last night. I couldn’t resist, okay? It was too tempting. Hobbits and Wizards and Dwarves and Smaug and…it’s amazing, I’m telling you. The movies are also amazing. I know they’re long, but I’m telling you, it’s worth it. It really is.

And, speaking of The Hobbit and Battle of the Five Armies and everything else Middle Earth, Jacquie @ She Is Modest made an amazing Tauriel costume, which she posted about here. Seriously, it is amazing. You must go check it out. (If you want to, it’s completely optional, just highly recommended.)

In addition to reading The Hobbit, I’m going to read the Lord of the Rings trilogy. (surprise surprise) So I’m pretty excited about that. I want to rewatch the movies as I read the books, because…I don’t really know why. Because it would be cool, that’s why. πŸ˜€

I was considering naming all my favorite LOTR characters, but then decided that the list would be too long, and I’d much rather hear about your favorites instead. Pray tell, your favorite Hobbit and Lord of the Ring characters!

What else am I going to read this year, in addition to fantasy featuring Strider and Frodo and Gandalf? Well, that would be The Katie Weldon Series by Robin Jones Gunn. I’ve read both the Christy Miller series and the Sierra Jensen series by her, both of which I loved, so I’m pretty stoked about this series as well. Hehe, yay!

Anddddd…well, I might as well stop there. I have a reading list I’ll never finish, and I have a feeling you don’t want to spend all your time sitting here while I tell you about all the amazingness I’m going to partake in.

BUT. OH. I just want to tell you about this a moment before I end this. I got the book God’s Smuggler by Brother Andrew with John and Elizabeth Sherrill, and I am going to read that as well. πŸ˜€ I’ve read God’s Smuggler before, and it was such an amazing book. It really demonstrates God’s power and just…wow. It’s just a WOW book. :’) So if you want a really good WOW book full of God-Things, I recommend this one.

Alright, enough yakking. (For now.) I want to hear about you! Have a good Christmas? New Years Eve? Have you read any of the books I mentioned, or seen the Hobbit? (Don’t forget that you were going to tell me your favorite LOTR characters :D)

Until next time, faithful readers! Thanks for sticking with me for this past year, with my scattered blog posts and randomness. I appreciate your comments and look forward to blogging with you for another year!

Bookworm's Majestic Adventures
Happy New Year from Emma @ A Bookworm’s Majestic Adventures!

 

Save

Save

18 thoughts on “The New Year, The Hobbit, and Books. Lots and Lots of Books.

  1. Annalise H. January 1, 2015 / 7:45 pm

    Ahh I would list my favorite LOTR characters, but I haven’t seen the movies or read the books. :$ And ahh, my picture!! You are a nuove Emma. Happy New years to you too!

    Like

    • Emma January 1, 2015 / 7:58 pm

      Aw, that’s too bad! They’re awesome. ❀ Any books you've read that you like?

      Like

  2. Jacquie January 2, 2015 / 4:17 pm

    Umm, lets see, how loudly was I screaming when I read this!?!?!?!?!?! AAAHHH!! Have I told you that the Hobbit/LotR was my obsession? I would list my favorite characters, but that would probably take up to much room. πŸ™‚ My number one favorite, though, is Legolas!! HE’S SOOOO AWESOME!!!!! Great job once again Em! Luv u! ❀

    Like

    • Emma January 2, 2015 / 5:20 pm

      Glad you liked it!! XD Right! That’s the same as me. Let’s save some room for other commenters too, eh? πŸ˜‰ ❀ Legolas is awesome. πŸ˜€ Thanks Jacquie, love you too. ❀

      Like

  3. Ana @ Butterflies of the Imagination January 3, 2015 / 4:43 pm

    I absolutely love the LOTR and Hobbit movies, as well as the books, which I’ve reread a couple of times. I think I need another reread of the series soon. I’d have to say that my favorite characters are Bilbo (of course!) and Sam. I’m not really a fan of Frodo, even though he is the hero of LOTR. I just like Sam better. I want to read God’s Smuggler so bad. From what I hear, it sounds a lot like The Hiding Place by Corrie ten Boom, which I loved.

    Like

    • Emma January 3, 2015 / 5:00 pm

      Bilbo and Sam are a couple of my favorites as well and I’m not a huge fan on Frodo either. I really like how Sam helps him out and comes back to help him.
      Yes, God’s Smuggler is very similar to the Hiding Place! I’ve read that one so many times. I love it too. I hope you’re able to read God’s Smuggler soon, and you enjoy it! It’s really an amazing book. πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. Cait January 3, 2015 / 6:48 pm

    That is SUCH an amazing Tauriel costume!! She’s talented to make that! And good luck with The Hobbit and LOTR. xD I love the movies to pieces but not the books…omg, I am SUCH a bad bookworm, right?! I would like to try reading The Hobbit this year too.

    Like

    • Emma January 3, 2015 / 6:52 pm

      Yes, she is very talented! I could never do anything like that.
      Lol, everyone has books they don’t read. I have plenty, believe me. You’re not alone! XD

      Like

  5. Deborah O'Carroll January 14, 2015 / 11:23 am

    Hiiiii. I saw you commenting on Cait’s blog and saw a link referencing The Hobbit and books and literally could not NOT click. XD

    Middle-earth is my total obsession! I’ve reread the books sooo many times (and am going to this year again, because it’s been awhile) and the movies (when I get over the changes they made) are awesome as well. I AM SO GLAD YOU WILL READ THE BOOKS NOW. πŸ˜€

    My favorite LotR character is FARAMIR. (Who, in the book, was an even nobler character than in the movie, btw. BECAUSE THEY CHANGED HIM. BUT I STILL LOVE HIM. BUT. Anywayy…) And he’s closely followed by Aragorn, And Eomer. And Legolas… I’ll stop now. XD

    Favorite book-Hobbit character, probably Gandalf and Beorn. Favorite MOVIE Hobbit characters… THRANDUIL. AND BARD. AND LEGOLAS. AND SOMETIMES THORIN. AND OF COURSE BILBO BILBO BILBO. I will stop now again. XD (But in all seriousness, probably Thranduil. BECAUSE HE’S SO FABULOUS.)

    Good luck on reading 100 books! That is AWESOME. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Emma January 14, 2015 / 7:40 pm

      Hello! XD Well thank you for stopping by! I may or may not have squealed with excitement when I had a new comment. I’m glad you enjoy the Hobbit and books as much as I. XD

      THE BOOKS ARE AWESOME. LET ME JUST SAY. I am 1/3 the way through the Hobbit at the moment, but MAN. I LOVE IT. I love the songs and I love just like the little things. XD I wish they had put all those little details into the movie! But then the Hobbit would be comprised of ten movies instead of three. And that would be a long time. But still. Like you, it’s hard to get over the changes producers make to the films, but I think the LOTR/Hobbit people did a good job making the films. πŸ˜€ They didn’t make as big of changes as they have in some movies I’ve watched, you know? πŸ˜€

      I like Faramir too! (in the movies. I have yet to read about him yet. Sooooooon. πŸ˜‰ ) NOW I AM EXCITED TO READ ABOUT HIM. πŸ˜€

      All the characters. Let’s just say all the characters are awesome, shall we? It makes for a shorter list. πŸ˜‰ I could go on and on and on forever as well.

      Thank you! I’m actually a little worried…I haven’t even finished one book yet. O_O I’m in a bit of a reading slump, you see. I read a whole bunch of books through Nov and Dec, and now I am just like. Yes. XD BUT THANK YOU. I love reading, so I will get back up again. Do you have any books you want to read this year? (Other than the Hobbit and Lord of the Rings, that is, teehee. :D)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Deborah O'Carroll January 14, 2015 / 9:21 pm

        I AM GLAD YOU LIKE IT SO FAR! πŸ˜€ I’m rereading it right now too. XD
        FARAMIR. ❀
        And yes, all the characters; you're right, it's so much shorter/better. πŸ˜‰

        Aww, that's too bad about your reading slump! :-/ But I'm sure it will pick up for ya! Because reading is awesome. πŸ˜€

        SO MANY THINGS I WANT TO READ. O_O I'm in the middle of four books right now and I have a stack of ten others I'm DYING to read this very instant! *flail* TOO MANY THINGS AND NOT ENOUGH TIME. Ahem. XD But some of them are The False Prince, The Healer's Apprentice, The Valley of Decision, Plenilune, Heist Society, The Wizard in the Tree, some Diana Wynne Jones… Just… stuff. Which I have no idea if you've heard of. XD

        Are you on Goodreads? I am obsessed with that site. πŸ˜› I'm doing a challenge on there to read 52 books this year. ^_^

        Like

      • Emma January 15, 2015 / 8:46 am

        I’m sure it will, thanks. πŸ™‚ READING IS AWESOME. YES.
        ARGH I KNOW. I just rearranged my bookshelf two days ago, and I couldn’t believe how many books I haven’t read yet! O_O Okay! I actually haven’t heard of any of those. XD But judging from the titles they sound good!
        I’m not? Isn’t that like a book review site or something? XD YOU GO! You can do it! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      • Deborah O'Carroll January 15, 2015 / 11:43 am

        Rearranging bookshelves is the BEST!!! πŸ˜€ It’s, like, my hobby. XD
        Yesh. https://www.goodreads.com/ And I love it to death. Because I’ve always loved books, and lists, and Goodreads puts them both together. πŸ˜›
        And thanks!! ^_^

        Like

      • Emma January 15, 2015 / 4:25 pm

        XD I love doing it! This time I didn’t do it as indepth as before; last time I arranged the books by alphabetically by author. XD
        OH. AWESOME. I will check it out!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Deborah O'Carroll January 15, 2015 / 4:33 pm

        I did that recently too! I actually have a bookcase full of things to read/reread, so those are just in the order I want to read them, but my other shelves are by author. πŸ˜€

        ^_^ I looove Goodreads. One warning: if you do get into it, it can be super timeconsuming. XD Heehee.

        Like

      • Emma January 16, 2015 / 3:42 pm

        I’m not the only one!!!!!!
        Hehe, thanks for the warning! I don’t need anymore things to consume my time atm but it’s stored in my memory for future reference πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜€ Thanks!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. aidylewoh March 2, 2015 / 7:30 pm

    Hey! Visiting from the GTW’s link-up.
    Woah, woah, woah! *God’s Smugglar* Yes, yes, yes! That’s one of my all-time favorite books! I’ve read it multiple times and was just telling some of my friends about it and how they should read it. It really is amazing. Getting to visit Holland last year (I’m from the USA) was amazing because I basically grew up reading books by Brother Andrew and Corrie ten Boom. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Emma March 3, 2015 / 4:35 pm

      I really need to reread it again! Currently I’m caught up in Abram’s Daughters (Beverly Lewis) and I can’t put them down – so I’m not sure when I’ll get to read it again. πŸ˜‰ Oh my land, that would be amazing! I hope you had a great time. πŸ™‚

      Like

Care to comment? Feel free!

