My First Day Without Braces

My First Day Without Braces | Majestic Adventures

So today was the day! Early this morning I woke up in avid anticipation of what would occur…and it finally did! I, my friends, am braces free. Whoo hoo! πŸ˜€ Mother Dearest bought me the promised Corn Nuts, two original and one ranch flavored. Boom baby. B) One bag is already gone, with a little help from my family. Corn nuts never tasted so good. Also, I can crunch on carrot sticks without worrying about breaking something. (Which I did at dinner tonight.) OH. LIFE IS GOOD!!!

I have to admit though, I am so not used to having a retainer in my mouth. My speech sounds a little funny and I just can’t feel anything on the roof of my mouth except a plastic thingy. And I don’t exactly love that. (Which I’m sort of used to. A while ago – a loooooong while ago, LOL – I had an appliance in where a plastic piece was up in the roof of my mouth. I could not talk. I’m sure I sounded hilarious, but at the time I didn’t want to! Talk funny, that is. I love to be hilarious. XD Later Mom confided in me that she had been trying hard not the laugh – thanks Mom! πŸ˜‰ Just kidding. I’m sure I would have laughed as well!) I wasn’t a very happy camper on the way home from ortho and then some. But as my patient Mom reminded me, it all takes some getting used to. I’ve had rubber bands and braces and appliances and headgear and impressions (oh my gosh impressions are the worst!) and everything else – and I got used to it all and I was fine. Except I will never ever in my lifetime get used to the feeling of foamy stuff in my mouth, a.k.a. impressions. Still, I was pretty bummed this afternoon. I came in and talked to Mom and said “I just don’t feel happy. I don’t want to wear this retainer.”

And you know what she said? She told me three words. “Prayer and praise.” Well, she said a lot more than that, but those were the first three words out of her mouth. Prayer and praise. She told me to stop dwelling on my retainer and everything else – and to focus on something good. Turn on the praise music and start saying a prayer; focus on Jesus and not the retainer.

And you know what? I went out and I laughed with my brother while playing a game of DORK. (What is DORK you wonder? Explanation below!) I listened to the praise music I could hear from the house (because when music is on at our house, it is on.) I thanked God that everything went as well as it did.

And I felt better. I was happy.

I’m still not used to wearing the retainer 24/7, but my word I’ve only had it for a day! But while I wait for that to happen I can focus on the good things in life instead. I’m braces free! I can eat whatever I want to without worrying about a broken bracket! I got a happy face balloon from the Orthodontist today, along with a CONGRATS balloon! I got a pop, a popcorn, a candy bar! (Oh and let us not forget the Corn Nuts!)

And I have a family who loves me and is patient with me and gives me Godly advice when I’m focusing too much on the bad things instead of the good.

So, for the rest of the day I smiled, I laughed, I listened to music, I played with my balloons outside and worried that they were going to fly away and be lost forever (which they weren’t; they are comfortably sitting here beside me as I type this); I lost in the DORK game I played, and I ate Corn Nuts.

It doesn’t take much to find the good in life. Maybe it’s the sunshine. The blue skies or the grass. Friends, family, church. Your dog. A good book. Maybe a smile. Or, maybe it’s all of it. There’s already bad things in the world, but what makes it worse is dwelling or worrying about them. Doing that can cause you to miss the good. I know it did for me this afternoon.

Prayer and praise. Focus on Jesus and not the bad things. Anytime I feel myself starting to get down, that’s what I’m going to do. (Try and remember to do!) Life’s too short to waste it by worrying about the bad things. (It’s also too short to waste time trying to match socks!) Let’s start focusing on the good and all that Jesus has done for us. πŸ™‚

Which, I forgot to post my Music Monday yesterday! :O I’ll post what I had for yesterday next week, because I just thought of a good song by The Afters. It’s titled Every Good Thing and one of my favorites! I hope you enjoy it too. I especially love the chorus. πŸ˜€


WOW. That was a little more serious post there. But hey, sometimes that’s a good thing! I’ve had a great day so far, actually. Even better since I’ve started praying and listening to music. But I didn’t add that line up there and separate this paragraph from the rest just to tell you that. I did it so that I would have a separate space to explain to you what the game DORK is that I mentioned above!

Well, ever hear of the game HORSE? That basketball game where people shoot a basket, and if they make a basket then everyone else needs to replicate the shot, and if they don’t make it, they get a letter? First one to get all five letters is out? (Other variations include PIG.) Well, DORK is exactly like that. Except you spell DORK. And if you get all four letters first, you have to announce to your family (or whoever is present) “That I am a dork.” Ha! It gets quite competitive because who wants to admit that? Haha!


So, hello there! thank you for reading this post! was wondering though, what things in life make *you* happy? have you ever played horse or, our variation called dork, before? and, I’ve been wondering this for a while, does me writing this in all caps make it seem like I’m yelling?

Save

Save

Save

4 thoughts on “My First Day Without Braces

  1. kokodownunder April 28, 2015 / 11:59 pm

    What a super post this is, Emma! I salute you for sticking through those two long years (without corn nuts!)! How’s that retainer going now, luove? ❀ :]
    LOVE. THE. SONG. I heard it a couple of years ago, I reckon it was, but I had actually recently just heard it again . . . and then I come on here and you had posted it! :O *highfive*
    NO. NO, IT DOESN'T SEEM LIKE YOUR SHOUTING. DOES IT SOUND LIKE I AM?!
    πŸ˜€ ❀

    Like

    • Emma April 29, 2015 / 4:41 pm

      Why thank you Koko! It’s going pretty good; sometimes it gets annoying because I have to take it out everytime I eat something! But other than that, it’s going well. πŸ˜€
      I love this song too!!!!!! It’s so catchy and good and just amazing!
      HAHAAHAH. NOOOO NOT AT ALLLLL. πŸ˜€

      Like

      • kokodownunder April 29, 2015 / 8:41 pm

        Yes? Mew, I bet it would. ❀ But good job, luovely! Also, do you ever forget to put it back in? XD
        IT IS. It really is. πŸ˜€ Another song of theirs that I have been listening to lately is Light Up the Sky! Now that one is catchy, too! Have you heard it, by chance?
        HAHAHAHAHA. πŸ˜€ ❀

        Like

      • Emma April 30, 2015 / 4:58 pm

        I do sometimes. We were heading to the store yesterday and — Oh! I guess I better get my retainer back in! Hehehehehe.
        Light light light up the sky you light up the sky to show me you are with me and I I I can’t deny no I can’t deny that you are right here with me you oppppppeened my eyes so I could see you allll around me. Hehehehehehehe. XD I don’t know if I’ve heard that one, noooo…. πŸ˜‰ That is a great one as well!

        Like

Care to comment? Feel free!

