Ring of Secrets | Roseanna M. White, Review

OH WHY HELLO THERE. And what is this? A book review on a bookish blog that even has the word ‘Bookworm’ in the title? Nooooo, really? You’re kidding. Yes. This is no joke, ladies and gents. A BOOK REVIEW ON MY BLOG. The last one was a long time ago…over a year. O_O

But alas, it is time for another.


 

Ring of SecretsLove Has No Place in a World of Spies

 1779—Winter Reeves is an aristocratic American Patriot forced to hide her heart amid the British Loyalists of the city of New York. She has learned to keep her ears open so she can pass information on British movements to Robbie Townsend, her childhood friend, and his spy ring. If she’s caught, she will be executed for espionage, but she prays the Lord’s protection will sustain her, and Robbie has taught her the tools of the trade—the wonders of invisible ink, secret drop locations and, most importantly, a good cover.

Bennet Lane returns to New York from his Yale professorship with one goal: to find General Washington’s spy hidden among the ranks of the city’s elite. Searching for a wife was supposed to be nothing more than a convenient cover story for his mission, but when he meets Winter, with her too-intelligent eyes in her too-blank face, he finds a mystery that can’t be ignored.

Both are determined to prevail at any cost…and each is committed to a separate cause. Will God lead them to a shared destiny or lives lived apart?


 

DOESN’T THIS SOUND INTERESTING. SPIES. REVOLUTIONARY WAR. LOVE. AH.  I was browsing Roseanna’s blog, which while we are on that topic I will just say that she also DESIGNS covers. YES. I love to look around at her Behind the Design section on her blog, because it’s pretty amazing how she does that. Anyways, as I was saying, I was browsing Roseanna’s blog when I stumbled across some of the books that she’s written. I love historical fantasy, and that’s what she writes. (!!!) I love the books where the characters have a faith in God, and they live by it. So then when I saw that I could order it from my library…YES!

Winter was my favorite character out of everyone. She’s living with her grandparents in the aristocracy of New York, attending the same balls and social gatherings as military officials–what a better position for a spy than that? She has the perfect guise–it’s easy for people to let sensitive information slip when they assume that you’re stupid and mindless. Winter is witty, and she made me chuckle quite a few times. People would say one thing, and Winter would pretend to think it meant something totally different. I also sympathized with her–she couldn’t be who she really was for such a long time. She lived with people who hated her and had friends who could care less. And yet through it all, she remained strong with her faith in God. I love books like that.

There are a lot of characters, and I got pretty confused about who was who, to be honest. But with as many characters as there were, Mrs. White did a wonderful job with them, giving them all unique roles in the story. As was so in 1779, people spoke in old English. At times I had to reread over the same things a couple or a few times, because I didn’t understand. There were some words that I didn’t know the meaning to as well. But the old English helped with the authenticity of the story, and the big words–hey, I expanded my vocabulary, peoples! 😀 The writing was excellent as well–some parts were choppy, but it wasn’t so often that it hindered the reading experience.

Winter, in trying to gain information to pass along the spy ring, gained the attention of a Colonel Isaac Fairchild. Fairchild was a kind man who genuinely cared, and I actually liked him. I surprised myself; I wasn’t expecting to like him, but I did, and…I won’t say anymore about the subject, because spoilers! You’re welcome.

And then Bennet Lane comes along, a man who finds women baffling and stutters when conversing with one, and he’s immediately intrigued with the mysterious Winter Reeves, determined to uncover the woman behind the mask. His awkwardness was extremely endearing. His relationship with his family wasn’t perfect (as was Winter’s replationship with her grandparents) and I liked that. No family is perfect, and I liked seeing that in this book. From the beginning of the book to the end of the book, you could see Ben’s character change and grow. Another good point! I like characters who change and become better at the end of the book than they were in the beginning. 🙂

I don’t think I paid enough attention during the book, because at the end, I went O_O Wait, what?! IT WAS A REALLY GOOD ENDING, BUT AT FIRST I DIDN’T GET IT. Why didn’t I get it? I think because I didn’t read some information correctly. I can’t tell you what, because again, SPOILERS. (You’re welcome, again.) At first I was a little disappointed with the ending, because there’s more books in the series and I was like WHERE ARE THEY GOING TO GO FROM HERE THOUGH IF EVERYTHING IS GOOD? and then I look at the first page of the next book (because this book includes a teaser of the next book) and I realized it follows another character. SO NOW I AM COMPLETELY HAPPY WITH THE ENDING, AND I WANT TO READ THE SECOND BOOK, AND THE FREE NOVELLA THAT TAKES PLACE BETWEEN THE FIRST AND SECOND. It’s on my Kindle, just waiting to be read.

Other random points about the book that I don’t know where to place in the review so I will just place here: Part of the reason I love historical fiction (i.e. Lynn Austin and Janette Oke’s works…) is because the books are fiction, but set in a real time era, and real life events still find themselves wrapped throughout the story. I love that! And this was the same way. Washington, the British, Benedict Arnold, and I even recgonized some names of famous spies who were part of the real Culper Ring! That’s pretty darn cool.

Another point for this book would be the whole spy part of it! The way that the Winter and her friend Robbie left each other secret messages with heat or acid revealing invisible ink, and how the way they dressed would reveal when, where, and how urgent the secret message they left was. It’s just cool.

So I’m guessing that you can see that I enjoyed this book. Sure, a couple of things that didn’t go so hot, but as you can tell there are way more things that were good about this book than bad. And the good certainly makes it worth reading, believe me. I’d reccommend this book to anyone who would enjoy a good historical fiction story, with romance, drama, and Christian faith mixed in. Also a good bit of nailbiting, because there were some spots….

Basically saying, THIS BOOK WAS GREAT.


Wait, what’s that? Why is this font purple? Because purple is gorgeous. 😀 Anyhoo, I’m just curious, are you a historcial fiction reader? Yes, no, maybe so? I would love to know! I myself love a good historcial fiction novel, though I haven’t read exessive amount of them, I still do enjoy them immensely. What about you?! 😀 Also, the question I am dying to know the answer to, would you read this book?!

 

Save

10 thoughts on “Ring of Secrets | Roseanna M. White, Review

  1. Gabrielle Emmons July 13, 2015 / 7:24 pm

    I love this series! I’ve read the full length novels but havent read the novellas yet.

    Like

    • Emma July 14, 2015 / 10:21 am

      😀 I’m liking it too! So far, so good! 😀 Is the second one just as good as the first? 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Gabrielle Emmons July 15, 2015 / 12:04 am

        That’s great. Yes! I really enjoyed book 2.

        Like

  2. kokodownunder July 14, 2015 / 9:11 am

    SQUEEEAK. I HAVE BEEN WAITING TO HEAR THIS RAVE, EMMA, EVER SINCE YOU TOLD ME THAT YOU WERE GOING TO READ THIS. :”D THIS SOUNDS *AWESOME* I WOULD PROBABLY READ THIS, YES. :O Their clothes determined how dire the situation was? THAT IS AMAZING. OH MY LAND. I definitely love that about the historical fiction I’ve read; they lace fictional stories with real life events, and it’s just. dajkfals. I take my hat off to those amazing authors who write that genre! :”) I’m so, so glad that you enjoyed this, Emma, and a SPECTACULAR review, as always! 😀 ❤

    Like

    • Emma July 14, 2015 / 10:22 am

      Thank you! Would you? If you ever do, I would love to hear what you think of it! 😀 A little bit; it was used more as a subtle code for letting other spies know that a message has been left. 😀

      Like

  3. Bethany July 24, 2015 / 2:38 pm

    Wow, that sounds like a really neat book! I love to read historical fiction, (and try to write it too) and I’ll have to look out for this one so I can read it!

    Like

    • Emma July 24, 2015 / 3:42 pm

      I’ve never tried to write historical fiction, just because there’s so much research and facts and I feel like my brain would be like O_O. LOL. But I love to read it too. 😀

      Like

  4. Sarah August 2, 2015 / 1:08 am

    Your review has definitely made me want to read this book! 😀 Well done! 🙂

    Like

    • Emma August 2, 2015 / 8:22 pm

      Hey Sarah! Oh, good, glad to hear it! It was a great book. XD 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Care to comment? Feel free!

