Thankful

 

A Bookworm's Majestic AdventuresThanksgiving is this week! To celebrate we’re going to my grandma’s and eating turkey and mashed potatoes and stuffing and corn–yummy! But of course I don’t have to tell you that Thanksgiving is so much more than that. What about thankfulness? What are we thankful for this year, as we gather around the table with our family and friends? What am I thankful for?

Last week at church my pastor said something like this, and it really caught my attention: “You can name off a bunch of your friends and family and have a list of people that you’re thankful for, but what else?” Something like that; I don’t remember exactly. 😉 But that grabbed me because, while I am so indescribably thankful for the family and friends that Jesus has blessed me with, what else am I thankful for? What are some of the “off-the-wall” things I’m thankful for–the things that I usually don’t say “Thank you Lord,” for?  Maybe some things I’ve taken for granted?

So that’s what I thought about this week. And here’s what I came up with: Grace. The grace of Jesus is such a beautiful thing, and that is what I am thankful for this Thanksgiving. We’re born sinners, but God sent His Son Jesus to die for our sins–my sins–so that we could be with Him for eternity!  I’m a child of the King  because of what He did, because of His grace and how much He loves me. God’s Grace. That’s what I’m thankful for this year.

Hey, I even got a song for this! We can count it as Music Monday Sunday, LOL! My family constantly tells me, “Emma, you have a song for everything!” I guess I do. 😛 I’ll add it in at the bottom of this post, but it’s called Call it Grace by Unspoken. I love it. I hope you do too! ❤

So tell me, what are you thankful for, beyond the automatic list of family and friends? I’d love to hear! ❤ Happy Thanksgiving everyone; I hope you have a beautiful celebration this year, wherever you might be. Remember, Jesus loves you so very much! *internet hug*

Emma xo

 

Save

10 thoughts on “Thankful

  1. Sarah November 22, 2015 / 7:02 pm

    Grace is so great! 🙂 I wish I could hear that song, but I don’t have enough internet data to watch videos right now! 😦 Oh well, I’m sure it’s great anyway! 😀 I hope you have a lovely Thanksgiving! ❤

    Like

    • Emma November 22, 2015 / 7:22 pm

      Oh no! Maybe later you’ll be able to? Thank you so much! xo

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sarah November 23, 2015 / 6:14 pm

        Yes, hopefully! 🙂

        Like

  2. Sarah November 23, 2015 / 3:06 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving! I hope you all have a wonderful day! I’m so thankful for the opportunity we have to homeschool without restriction or persecution. And for religious liberty. And of course for such wonderful friends as you and your family! 🙂 Enjoy your dinner! ❤ Will you be going shopping on Friday?

    Love you! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Emma November 23, 2015 / 6:50 pm

      Thank you!!! Oh, yes, that is such a wonderful thing to be thankful for!! No, I don’t think I’m going shopping this year, LOL! I went a couple years ago (first time) and woke up very early…could’ve woken up a little later, because no one was out barely! ha! But now I just do my Black Friday shopping on the internet. 😉

      Like

    • kreativekana November 25, 2015 / 7:33 pm

      Yes, me too. 😀 I’m thankful that we get to homeschool! 🙂
      Zielle

      Like

      • Emma November 25, 2015 / 7:45 pm

        Yes! Another great thing to be thankful for!!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. kreativekana November 25, 2015 / 7:32 pm

    xx I’m thankful for life, and like you said; for Jesus who died for us so that we could be forgiven. 🙂 Thank you so much for sharing, Emma! 😀

    Like

    • Emma November 25, 2015 / 7:45 pm

      Good things to be thankful for! Thanks for reading and commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

Care to comment? Feel free!

