To Ski or Not to Ski

That, my dear blog-following buddies, is the question.

To Ski or not to Ski | Majestic Adventures

So have you been skiing before? I haven’t. I don’t particularly fancy the idea of having my size nine’s strapped to skis, sliding down a hill at a speed I can’t necessarily control. I like sledding. Somehow sliding down a hill at a speed I can’t necessarily control feels safer when I’m sitting on a plastic disc. But then, that’s just me.

The reason I’m pondering this question–to ski or not to ski–is because I have a friend who loves to ski and snowboard. And she’s offered to teach me how! She offered to teach me last year, but ehhhh, I just wasn’t ready. It’s just the whole slippy-slidey-snowy part. I can see myself going down the hill, trying to stop somehow, only to fall and break an arm. I like my arms. I don’t know about you, but I use them pretty much all the time. And I really don’t feel like breaking one. I told her that too, and she informed me that skiing is more of a leg-breaking sport. Oh, well that makes me feel better!

But this year…I’m feeling braver this year. I’m an outgoing person. I like to get together with people and I like to do things. Earlier this year I started to clam up…I liked my own little circle…didn’t to move out of my comfort zone. Very unlike me! This year God’s been teaching me that I have nothing to be afraid of because He is always with me. There are two verses that He showed me that I’ve clung to:

To Ski or Not to Ski | Majestic Adventures

To Ski or Not to Ski | Majestic Adventures

 Numerous times this year He’s pushed me out of my comfort zone, giving me a new adventure, and teaching me that He is bigger than anything I’ve been afraid of. These are the verses I’ve gone to. I’m a 2 Timothy 1:7 girl.

This past summer I had the opportunity to go on an out of state missions trip. It was the hardest thing I have ever done; it was the best thing I have ever done. I was really nervous, kinda scared, but God got me through it and I’m super glad I went! I also was able to go white water rafting for the first time ever. Needless to say, I was really nervous and super scared BUT LOOK. I AM STILL HERE. I SURVIVED. I also loved white water rafting. IT WAS SO AWESOME. Very adventurous. And I love a good adventure. (As you very well know)

I’m breaking out of the little comfort-zone I’d built, with a little help (pfft, a lot of help) from God. I’m trying new things (I’m even trying new foods that I always assumed I didn’t like. I LIKE SALMON. AND CAESAR SALAD. I surprise myself.) and I’m finding that the things I was super nervous and/or scared about trying…they’re actually not too bad. (Usually.) 😀

If it had been my own choice to go white water rafting, I might not have gone. (I went with people on the missions trip, and I couldn’t very well let them have all the fun without me, now could I? Plus it was already paid for.) I WAS SUPER SCARED, OKAY? Four of the people I went with asked me “Are you okay Emma?”  But dude! Now I would totally go again! It was fantastic!

So I’ve never been skiing before. If I went, I wouldn’t know what to expect, other than snow and ski stick things and being attached to a pair of clumsy skis. (At least I’m assuming they’re clumsy. My Mii trips a lot while playing Wii Ski.) But I’m trusting God–and my friend who is so kind as to teach me how to do this–to be with me the whole time. Who knows! I might find I love skiing. Someday I might even become an Olympic skier. (What? A girl can dream.) Or I might just discover that I am either, A) really bad at skiing or, B) it’s not really my thing. But hey, at least I’d have tried! Plus, need I tell you, it’d be an adventure. And I love a good adventure.

You know what? I think I’ve just answered my own question.  I’ve decided what I’m going to do. I, my friends, am going skiing. I don’t know when, but I am going to learn how to ski. After all, what’s the worst that could happen? (Please don’t answer that.) It’s going to be fun. I hope.

Wish me luck.

Emma xo

PS: HAPPY DECEMBER, TIS THE SEASON TO BE JOLLY, MERRY CHRISTMAS!

Save

15 thoughts on “To Ski or Not to Ski

  1. Maria December 1, 2015 / 12:12 pm

    OMG! Go it will be the best thing you have ever done! I have never hurt myself and I skied since I was 5 xD

    Like

    • Emma December 1, 2015 / 12:15 pm

      Ahh!!!! Thanks for the vote of confidence! That is so good to know you’ve never hurt yourself. I feel like the odds of me walking away unscathed have now risen. Yay!!!

      Like

  2. charitydear December 1, 2015 / 1:05 pm

    I went skiing once. I spent the whole night on the little hill, which was super fun. Then I tried the big hill one time. I got scared and threw myself backwards and whacked myself in the face with my pole and scooted the rest of the way down on my bum. Haha… You should absolutely give it a whirl! My favorite winter activity is tubing! 😀

    Like

    • Emma December 2, 2015 / 12:04 pm

      Oh my land! At least you were okay?! LOL, I’m so sorry–but thank you for sharing that! Tubing…like sledding but on those inflatable “sleds?” I’ve done that before! That is fun. 😀

      Like

  3. Sarah December 1, 2015 / 9:28 pm

    I love your courageous spirit! 🙂 That is so great how God has highlighted those verses to you! That is so beautiful! And that experience you had on that mission trip is amazing!
    Have fun as God continues to amaze you! Skiing might just turn out to be super! 😀

    Like

    • Emma December 2, 2015 / 12:05 pm

      Oh thank you!! Yes, the missions trip was really fantastic–but so full of challenges! It was so hard to be away from my family for a week; that was the biggest challenge. Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Jacqueline December 2, 2015 / 10:45 am

    Ooooh, good luck Em!!!! ❤ I'm so glad you're getting past your fears!! (Trust me, it takes a lot to do it!!!) Not to mention you're sooo lucky you get to ski PERIOD. I've never gone, hopefully this year will be a first. 🙂 And never forget Phillipians 4:13 (That is the right verse, right?)

    Like

    • Emma December 2, 2015 / 12:06 pm

      Thanks Jacquie! Haha, perhaps we’ll have to go together sometime…assuming I enjoy it enough to go again! 😉 Otherwise, you can ski, I will sled. Ha! Oh, that is another one of my favorite verses…though I temporarily forgot that one for a bit, LOL! Thanks for the reminder! ❤

      Like

  5. Alexa S. Winters December 14, 2015 / 8:04 pm

    lol, great post! You literally made me laugh out loud. 🙂 And 2nd Timothy 1:7 is one of my favorite verses, so perfectly applicable for every situation!
    Good luck with your skiing!

    Alexa
    thessalexa.blogspot.com
    verbositybookreviews.wordpress.com

    Like

    • Emma December 14, 2015 / 8:48 pm

      Lol, glad to be a source of your amusement! 😀 I love making people laugh, so it’s good to hear! It totally is, isn’t it? I love good verses like that. 😀 thanks so much! I haven’t gone yet…but soon, I hope!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Sarah January 1, 2016 / 4:35 pm

    Haha! Wonderful post again, Emma! Merry Christmas and happy new year to you! ❤ I hope you have/had a good time of it! I've only been sledding once and I totally agree about the whole 'ski's look clumsy and I'm probably more comfortable sitting down' thing. 😉 I hope you had a blessed Christmas!

    Like

    • Emma January 1, 2016 / 5:56 pm

      LOL, nice to have someone who shares my opinion! I went sledding with my brother yesterday and can’t imagine going down the hill standing up…but I will do it! 😀

      Like

Care to comment? Feel free!

