In 2016 I Will…

In 2016 I Will | Majestic Adventures

Happy New Years! Also a late Merry Christmas. I hope both of your celebrations were fabulous! I don’t know about you, but I’m ready for a tray of grape tomatoes and carrot sticks. I’m sugared-out! That didn’t stop me from making peanut butter cups today though…haha, those things are good.

Ahh…in all honesty, I really can’t believe it’s 2016. I know, I know, you hear that sort of thing often around this time of year. You’ll hear it again next year: “Man, I can’t believe that it’s 2017!” (Isn’t that scary to think about!) But it’s true! Somehow the end of the year always ends up creeping up on people until BOOM! Everyone’s pushing their bedtimes and watching the big ball in New York drop. (Except me. We don’t have television channels, so we improvised and found a countdown on the internet 22 seconds before the New Year. Whoo hoo! Happy New Year, folks!!)

So then I was looking back the other day, thinking about everything that had happened in ’15. Things I never expected, some bad things along with the good. (Kinda how life goes, but God’s got a plan!!) It’s like, “Wow, I never thought that would happen!” I’ve been blessed and learned some lessons…looking back I never would have imagined that 2015 would have taught me and given me so much!

Makes me wonder what’s gonna happen this year. What kinds of things I’ll learn and new things I’ll try that I never imagined doing before. Will I run a marathon? (Probably not. I’m not a runner, but who knows!) Will I be able to pick a hymn out of the hymnal and play it on piano? (I’m learning to do play piano now. Repetition is key. My family loves to listen to me play the same thing a zillion times a day). Or maybe I’ll break my leg skiing…man, I hope not! LOL. Life’s not perfect and there will be some things that don’t go quite as I had planned, but I am clinging close to Jesus on this one. He knows what the future holds (He’s awesome like that) and Jesus can use those things that don’t go just right to draw us closer to Him and to teach us things.

So last night (or rather this morning) at 12-something before I went to bed, I made a list and hung it up above the light switch in my room. They’re not resolutions per se, but more of…things I want to do. Not physical things like what I listed above, but, well, you’ll see. I thought I’d share that list with you. Maybe, if you haven’t already and the idea appeals to you, make a list of your own!

So until next time, folks. I hope your 2016 is full of adventures, surprises (good ones!) and books!

Love, Emma xo

In 2016 I Will…

~Grow closer to God

~Go on adventures

~Enjoy where I am RIGHT NOW

~Not worry about the future

~Trust God

~Love my family, friends and the life God has given me!

 

Save

6 thoughts on “In 2016 I Will…

  1. kokodownunder January 1, 2016 / 8:43 pm

    Oh Emma, what a beautiful post! I *loved* hearing about your New Year’s Eve and I loved reading about your recollection of 2015. ❤ It's so exciting to wonder what's going to happen this year, especially since 2015 was bursting with adventures and learning curbs and all that good stuff! Thank you for posting your list of personal resolutions – I really loved to read that! :') I made a list like that too, and it is very similar! :O XD I'm excited to see you check off every one of these things on your list, and I can't wait to see the good things God's got in store for you for this year unfold. ❤

    Love you, sweet nuove. x

    Like

    • Emma January 2, 2016 / 10:35 am

      Oh, thank you Koko! This new year has so many mysteries ahead…things just waiting to be discovered! Can’t wait to see what’s gonna happen–I can’t wait to see the things on YOUR list be checked off too! Love ya too. 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sarah January 1, 2016 / 9:45 pm

    Lovely resolution! 😀 I haven’t done one yet.. XD Happy 2016, Emma!

    Like

  3. Sarah January 3, 2016 / 10:17 pm

    Happy 2016!! It’s amazing how time flies!! Did I sense sarcasm about piano repetition? XD Beautiful list! God bless your new year! ❤

    Like

    • Emma January 3, 2016 / 10:25 pm

      Ahahaha!!!! Yes, that was sarcasm, LOL! They say they don’t mind, but…I can tell when Joy to the World gets a little irritating to some members of my family. hehe!

      Like

Care to comment? Feel free!

