The Photograph ~ Beverly Lewis

The Photograph review

GREETINGS. How goes it? I hope it goes well for you and you are having a ~wonderful~ January. After finishing up the last of the Christmas goodies, I’ve been making Chex Mix and munching on carrots, as well as building snowmen that defy gravity. By that I mean that my snowman now resembles the Leaning Tower of Pisa. I built it with my brother two days ago when it was 15 degrees F. The next day it was 30 degrees and the sun was out, and it melted just enough that it started to tip backwards, so much so I thought for sure it would tip over. But before it could collapse into a snowy pile, the temperature plummeted to 9F and the melting, leaning snowman froze in place at its 60 degree angle.

Anyways, anyways, enough about my snowman because it’s time for another blog post, and this one is about a book that I got for Christmas! My wonderful mother dearest got me Beverly Lewis’ newest novel, The Photograph and I could not waiittttt to read it! I’ve read three other series of hers in the past, and I just love the way she writes! So, I guess I don’t need to say, I realllly was super excited about this book.

But before I can move on and tell you how I enjoyed it, I should introduce you, so you know a little bit about it. Readers, meet The Photograph. The Photograph, meet my nice blog followers.


The Photograph (Beverly Lewis) | Majestic AdventuresHe studied the picture more closely, finding it curious that the young woman looked so boldly into the camera while wearing a white prayer Kapp shaped like a heart–the characteristic head covering for the Lancaster County Old Order Amish.

Why would a devout girl have her picture taken?

When her sister Lily disappears only months after their widowed mother’s passing, Eva Esch fears she has been wooed away from the People. Yet Lily’s disappearance isn’t Eva’s only concern: She and her sisters must relocate once their older brother takes over the family farmhouse. Then Jed Stutzman, an Amish buggy maker from Ohio, shows up in Eden Valley with a photo of a Plain young woman. Eva feels powerfully drawn to the charming stranger–but the woman in the forbidden photograph is no stranger at all. . . .


Are you guys ready? Got a good gist of what The Photograph is all about? Good! Let’s move on, shall we? 🙂

Well first off, as you can see from the blurb above, the story is set in Eden Valley, Pennsylvania. I have no idea if this is a real place, but it felt like one! I like the way Beverly writes because it’s descriptive, but not too descriptive. She leaves room for the imagination, but gives enough of a picture to the reader to see it all in their head, you know?

So, at the moment, life is full of change for Eva and her sisters. Like, full of change. Her parents have both passed away, her brother is going to take over the farmhouse, and then her sister goes missing! I guess I could especially relate to Eva in this way because things are changing in my life too. While I couldn’t even begin to imagine what it would be like to go through what the characters were going through, they were still relatable. I liked them, even Eva’s not-so-optimistic-slightly-grumpy sister Frona.

The other “big character” was Jed. Life isn’t all happy-dandy for him either, and I really liked that even though he had gone through some rough patches he helped out other people, even though it wasn’t always the most convenient thing!

Throughout most of the book, it was paced pretty well. I didn’t think things happened too quickly or too slowly, but there were a couple of times when it could’ve been sped up a little bit? But overall, I think it helped create a more…realistic? setting for the story since things in life often take a little bit o’ time. When something happened, it didn’t seem too sudden or make me think “Well, finally.” I thought everything panned out pretty naturally.

The side characters–Beverly always has these interesting side characters, and I love how she weaves different stories together like she does!–helped bring it together too. When I write my own stories, it’s hard for me to remember that the side characters have lives too! Sometimes the side characters don’t get enough thought put into them, because after all, isn’t the story about the main character? But Beverly does a good job with balancing between the two. It did strike me as odd though that one side character’s story didn’t really seemed “finished.” It wasn’t a huge-huge thing because he wasn’t a huge character, he was actually a small one, but it just seemed open ended and I would’ve liked to hear what the character had decided on doing.

To sum it all up, this book didn’t disappoint me. It was intriguing and made me want to keep reading! I would definitely reread this book and recommend it to a friend! 🙂 Aaaanddd…I think that’s it! So…I guess we’re done? Bah, I have trouble ending reviews without sounding too abrupt. Ha! But I really did enjoy this book, and I hope that if you decide to read it, you’ll like it too.

I’d love to hear your thoughts, so comment away! I’d also enjoy hearing about your latest adventures, too. Build any snowmen recently? Are your snowmen fighting for survival under the warm weather like Herbert (I named mine that) or they solid as a rock? Read any good books lately?

Happy January, everyone!

Emma xo

 

 

Save

4 thoughts on “The Photograph ~ Beverly Lewis

  1. kokodownunder January 18, 2016 / 2:41 pm

    Ah Emma, once again your posts leave me smiling! 😉 I *loved* hearing about what you enjoyed about “The Photograph,” it sounds like a wonderful, wonderful book. From what I’ve read of Beverly (The Cul-De-Sac kids series, the Girl’s Only series, and the Holly’s Heart series), I have no doubt that this is just as amazing!

    Dear Herbert . . . I assume he doesn’t like warm hugs? 😉 ❤

    Koko

    Like

    • Emma January 18, 2016 / 5:56 pm

      Oh, thank you! OH. THE CUL-DE-SAC KIDS. Yes, I’ve read those too, so that makes four series! I was thinking Abram’s Daughters, Holly’s Heart and the Nellie Fisher series. (All of which were excellent as well!) Ah, those were good. 🙂
      LOL, unfortunately, no, he does not. 😉 ❤
      Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sarah January 18, 2016 / 9:03 pm

    It sounds like a great book! I love it when books have heaps of different stories weaved into one! 😀 I love the way you introduced us to this book! You’re so funny! XD

    Like

    • Emma January 18, 2016 / 9:19 pm

      YES, I love that too!!! It makes it so interesting and feels more like real life, with so many other things happening…just not so many it gets all confusing, LOL!

      Like

Care to comment? Feel free!

