Music Monday – June 6

Music Monday June 6 | Majestic Adventures

Alas, tis time for another Music Monday! Today I wanted to share a few of my favorite hymns with you. I love hymns. They are so beautiful; the words and the message. And I do love praise & worship music as well, but sometimes I just gotta take a break from that and listen to a hymn that my parents, grandparents and great-grandparents grew up singing! There’s nothing like an old hymn to sing to Jesus! ❀

Victory in Jesus –Β  performed by Guy Penrod

I really like Guy Penrod, and I love his rendition of Victory in Jesus, particularly because of it’s upbeat-ness! We have victory with Jesus because of what He did for us on the cross, and we need to claim that victory and live fearlessly because of that!

 

The Old Rugged Cross – performed by The Gaither Vocal Band

I love this song. A friend of mine asked what my favorite hymn was, and I said this was it. What Jesus did on the that old rugged cross for me just awes and amazes and makes me love Him even more. I read this saying in a book once, and I won’t get it 100% right but I really liked it. It was something like, “Jesus took the cross, which had been a symbol of cruelty and fear and turned it into a symbol of hope.” Something like that at least; I can’t remember it for sure!

 

Because He Lives – Bill Gaither

I don’t know who sings this song in the video, but the man who wrote the song was Bill Gaither! (Which I did not know until I wrote this blog post! ha!) For years now this song has been a great reminder for me that I can live without fear because He lives! I can live without fear, without worry, without any of that negative stuff because Jesus now lives and he defeated all that when He died on the cross and was resurrected.

So there you have it, a few of my favorite hymns–oldies but goldies. Or goodies. (I’ve heard it both ways.) Thank you for reading and I hope you enjoyed listening to the songs! What are your favorite hymns?

Save

Save

4 thoughts on “Music Monday – June 6

  1. Christian Homeschooler June 6, 2016 / 6:05 pm

    These are great hymns, indeed! πŸ™‚ I really like Sweet Hour of Prayer and My Jesus I Love Thee. πŸ™‚
    ~Christian Homeschooler

    Liked by 1 person

    • Emma June 8, 2016 / 2:54 pm

      I like Sweet hour of Prayer too! I hadn’t heard it before you mentioned it so I went ahead and youtubed it. πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sunny June 14, 2016 / 2:59 pm

    Oh, this was cool! πŸ˜€ My family has been listening to the Gaithers a little bit recently. Because He Lives is good, Thanks for sharing! πŸ˜€
    *Sunny
    P.S. And yes, hymns are great. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Emma June 14, 2016 / 3:20 pm

      πŸ˜€ I’m glad you liked it Sunny! πŸ™‚ Thanks for reading!! ❀ ❀

      Liked by 1 person

Care to comment? Feel free!

