Pray for the Little Things

Pray for the Little Things | Majestic Adventures

Early yesterday morning my mom and I went to a lovely little coffee shop to celebrate the birthday of one special lady in our lives. A small group of women gathered in a private back room with our drinks of choice. For me, that was a toasted marshmallow hot chocolate with whipped cream. And there were muffins. Yummy!

Twenty minutes after my muffin was gone, and in the midst of our chatter, the roof of my mouth started to feel tingly…and I ignored it, as I tend to do, thinking to myself, Nah, it’ll just go away. Except it didn’t, and soon the tingly feeling spread across my cheek. I’m not allergic to any foods that I know of; but I’ve had the same thing happen a couple of times before (though not to the same extent). Figured since it was a little worse than the couple other times, I should probably tell my Mama.

She furrowed her brow at me and said, “Well we should leave so that you can get some meds. It must be from the muffin since you drink hot chocolate at home.”

The lady next to us heard us say something, and soon everyone around the table knew about the tingles in my mouth and face. And instantly, the woman across the table from us said, as casually as you please, “Well then, let’s pray.”

Everyone bowed their heads and we talked to God about what was going on with my face. She thanked Jesus that He knew exactly what was going on, and she prayed that it would go away and not come back. As soon as she began praying, the tingling in the roof of my mouth was gone. By the time she’d said Amen my cheek wasn’t tingling anymore. After twenty minutes of having some kind of a reaction slowly get worse, I felt completely fine.

“Thank you Lord!” I couldn’t resist it–I knew that God had healed me! And I had a kind of Duh! moment after that. Our first reaction had been How can we fix this ourselves? Instead of Let’s take it to the Healer. I can remember to take the big things that I know I can’t fix to Jesus, but the little things? That’s a little harder.

I continued to marvel and thank Jesus for the fact that my face was back to its original non-tingling form. The woman who’d prayed for me said that we need to pray for the little things before they become big things. It’d be easy to think, “A little allergic reaction isn’t that big a deal. Meds will probably help. No need to worry God about it.”

He cares about the little things in your life that bug you because He cares about you. Just as there’s no problem too big for God, there’s no problem too small. If He can take care of the huge and impossible, He can take care of those small issues as well. Good grief, Jesus can make blind men see and the lame walk again! And yet He still cares for the sparrows in the sky.

 Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. ~Philippians 4:6-7

God used the morning in the coffee shop, not only as a good time to fellowship, but to show me that He’s the God of all–the big, the small, and everything in between.  That He is the Ultimate Healer, healing even a tingly cheek. And last of all, He taught me just how powerful prayer really is. All in a period of two hours!

Bob and LarryThank you so much for taking the time to read this. I hope that you’ve been reminded how much God cares about you and all the little things in your life! As Larry the Cucumber and Bob the Tomato from VeggieTales would say, God made you special, and He loves you very much. Goodbye!

Save

Save

Save

6 thoughts on “Pray for the Little Things

  1. Charity June 25, 2016 / 8:35 am

    God is so good to us! Those moments really grow your faith! 😀

    Like

    • Emma June 25, 2016 / 9:34 am

      Yes He is, and yes they do!!

      Like

  2. Sarah June 25, 2016 / 6:31 pm

    So beautiful. I’m learning this every day too. God bless! ❤

    Like

    • Emma June 25, 2016 / 7:03 pm

      Thank you! Have a wonderful day! xo

      Like

  3. Robert Forbes June 26, 2016 / 7:36 pm

    Very good Em, good reminder and good to think about. Love you, Gram

    Like

    • Emma June 26, 2016 / 9:47 pm

      Thanks for reading Gram! Love ya!

      Like

Care to comment? Feel free!

