The Lost Earring

The Lost Earring | Majestic Adventures

Last night I was in a semi-rush trying to get ready. A friend had asked me last minute to go see a high school play and I had a little over forty minutes before she arrived to pick me up. I still had to eat and blow dry my hair, but I wasn’t feeling frazzled until I was cleaning my earrings.

And I dropped one.

And I was standing right by the sink.

Oh no.

I really needed that earring. I just pierced my ears two months ago and am supposed to wear earrings full-time for six months. My ears are allergic to certain types of metal, but I’ve found that stainless steel works just fine.

The only earrings I have that are stainless steel just happen to be the one I dropped.

Possibly down the sink. I really hoped it wasn’t down the sink.

But there’s no doubt I’ve lost my jewelry. Again. You see, it would seem I have bad luck with jewelry. Not that I believe in luck, but somehow I always do something to end up losing it. (Serious question: Should I do a part 2 later, Case of the Missing Ring?)

“Um, hey, Mom? Can you come here?” She entered the bathroom to find me on the floor as I scanned underneath the counter and dresser for my little 3mm earring. “I lost my earring.”

Together we scanned the floors. Flashlights were brought out in hopes that the light would reflect off the metal. We enlisted the the help of my brother and investigated the hallway, thinking maybe it had rolled underneath the bathroom door.

“Were any drawers open when you dropped it?” Mom asked me. I told her no, that only the cupboard door was swung open a little bit. We pulled everything out of the cupboard, but still no earring.

Which left the sink drain as the only logical choice. Mom sent my brother out to the garage for a wrench we could use on the pipes, and a bucket to catch everything that released when we took the sink apart. We opened up the pipes and water drained out. Mom looked for an earring, but only came up with a penny (lost when my brother was washing off his latest metal detecting finds a few months ago).

Our bathroom has double sinks, so she poured the water from the bucket into the other sink. Except our sinks are double sinks. As in, connected. All the water spilled out the disconnected pipe into our cupboard.

So we mopped that mess up, and I asked God to please help me find my earring. The lady in the parable of the lost coin found her coin, so I was really hoping here! After we threw the last soppy towel into the laundry hamper, Mom exclaimed, “Aha! Here it is!”

It wasn’t in the sink and it wasn’t on the floor–it was in the cupboard. It had fallen through the ajar cupboard door and landed inside where it rolled behind the edge.

And after much searching and plumbing we found it. Sweet!

Plus I was able to quick eat a scrambled egg with cheese and have a little time to spare before my friend arrived.

So I guess everything turned out okay. Thanks Lord!!

But just a piece of advice? Well, maybe two pieces. First: Check around the edges of your cupboard for that elusive earring. You never know where it might be tucked into. Second: If it turns out you gotta do some home plumbing and you happen to have double sinks, make sure you don’t go pouring water into the other one unless you know they aren’t connected. And you remember that they’re not connected.

Until the next time, folks!

Lots of love,

Emma xoxox

 

Save

4 thoughts on “The Lost Earring

  1. Sarah November 6, 2016 / 9:16 pm

    Wow, Em! I was sitting on the edge of my seat, lol! XD I’m glad you found it! What a lot of trouble you guys went to! :O I love how you retell stories! So entertaining! 😉

    Like

    • Emma November 9, 2016 / 8:12 pm

      LOL, why thank you, I’m glad that you enjoy my stories. Always a good thing to hear!! Oh goodness, yes, I’m so blessed to have a family that doesn’t mind stopping dinner and things to help me look!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. kokodownunder November 7, 2016 / 6:15 am

    Oh my goodness, Emma! X’D First, congratulations on getting your ears pierced. 😀 Second, oh luove! That is sooo unfortunate about how the sinks were connected… XD I am SO glad you found your earring after all that, though – praise God! 😀 ❤ How did you find the play, by the way? I hope you enjoyed yourself! 😀 Also, I'd definitely love to hear a retelling of your missing ring, lovely! 😉 ❤

    Like

    • Emma November 9, 2016 / 8:14 pm

      Well thank you! Yes, I am quite enjoying having my ears pierced, even though I haven’t tried another pair of earrings yet. 😀 The play was very good! It was Emma by Jane Austen, which I had never read or seen (because I think it’s a movie too?) before, but it was very good. We had a hard time following because they talked in the old English with big words and long sentences and sometimes I just wanted to say “Wait, rewind please? I wasn’t listening enough?” But we had a very nice time and Emma was a very amusing character!!
      (Look for the next post for the part two sometime soon! 😉 )

      Liked by 1 person

Care to comment? Feel free!

