The Case of the Missing Ring

 

Case of the Missing Ring | Majestic Adventures It’s only been a few days, but I think you’ll get a kick out of how I lost my ring (like I lost my earring a few days ago). So I thought heh, why wait?

Ironically, I lost my ring because I was trying not to lose it.

Let me explain.

My brother and I met some friends at a ball field to play some baseball. I love a good baseball game. I can usually hit a double; sometimes a triple. That might be because there’s only two or three people on a team and one, possibly two of them are in the outfield. But it’s still really fun.

As I was going up to bat, I noticed that my ring was starting to slip off my finger. I bought my ring, a heart-shaped opal ring (really pretty; I love it) while we were on vacation a few years ago. Since it was coming off my finger pretty easily, I slid it into my pocket and carried on as usual.

The game was over a while later (though I can’t remember who won. We can just say that my and my brother’s team won. I’m cool with that). The bro and I got on our bikes and headed home. We were in a hurry because we were going to see a concert with the family later that night, and I was really looking forward to it.

I got home and was getting ready, and that’s when I realized…my ring was gone. (Sounding familiar to those who read my last post?? Aack.) After checking the pockets of my jeans, I began to get frantic because it. was. not. there.

Where on earth was this thing??????????

We had to leave soon!!!!!! I don’t like to leave things unfinished (i.e. a search for a missing piece of jewelry).

I had really gotten used to it being on my finger, so my middle finger felt a little naked and cold.

Same tune, different words: everyone began to help me look for it. I searched everywhere. I had carried my clothes to the laundry room so I checked the whole path that I had taken. I got on my hands and knees and looked around the bathroom. My brother and I got on our bikes and back-tracked it to the ball field in search of this thing, checking the roads and everything.

Sigh. There were many tears. I couldn’t find it. I had to leave for the concert before I could find it. I was praying that I would, because I really loved that ring. It especially irked because I had been trying not to lose it but it was still lost!

Why do I lose things? I don’t mean to. I really do try to take good care of my stuff.

It’s just one of those things, I suppose.

Despite all that, however, it was a really great concert. I had a lot of fun.

Until I got home and was reminded that my ring was still gone. 😦

But you know what’s really cool?

I think God just picked my ring up from wherever I had really and truly lost it and plopped it right in front of me. Because the next morning, having still not found the ring, I ventured into our basement for something-or-other.

The light caught something just right, and in my peripheral vision I saw a glimmer. Simultaneously I felt a glimmer of hope as I turned, and looked….

In the middle of the basement floor was my opal ring.

And folks, I know that thing wasn’t there last night. I scoured those floors looking for it. Anyone for a miracle, folks? πŸ˜€

My ring was sitting right in the center. In the center!

Oh, glorious day! I was ecstatic, as you can well guess!! Ah, it was a happy day. Very happy indeed. The lost ring was indeed found. We can stamp that case closed!

But you know, it’s strange how used you can get to wearing a ring or a bracelet. It feels weird when you lose it and it’s not there anymore. (Not that I lost my bracelet last month or anything, no, why would you think I’d do something crazy like that???)

(FYI I found it. #score)

Yes, my ring and I were reunited. Would you believe me if I told you that two months later a prong in my ring became loose and the opal fell out while I was at a park?

Oh jewelry. I don’t think it agrees with me, but I wear it anyways. It keeps life interesting.

 

6 thoughts on “The Case of the Missing Ring

  1. CutePolarBear November 10, 2016 / 9:30 am

    Haha! Poor you… (Just curious, what kind of concert was it? A Southern Gospel concert? πŸ˜‰ My family and I went to a SG concert last week!) As my mom always says, when you lose something, it’s a reminder to pray for the lost. (people) It’s so weird how you look for something, and can’t find it, and then later the ‘thing’ is in plain sight, right where you were looking.

    Like

    • Emma November 10, 2016 / 8:36 pm

      Oh man, you know me and my southern gospel!! It was actually a Jason Gray concert…very fun! He’s so funny. At one point he forgot the words to his song, so on the second line instead of singing them he said, “Annnddd I just forgot the rest of the words…” some lady from the audience reminded him! It was great! Hehe! OH MY LAND! HOW FUN! That would be AMAZING! You had a blast then, right? πŸ˜€
      Oh, that is a very good reminder! I’ll have to remember that one. πŸ™‚
      I know, I know, so weird indeed!

      Like

      • CutePolarBear November 12, 2016 / 1:39 pm

        Oh, hehe! Sounds like you had fun. I love it when the artists are just humans, even when they’re on stage, doing their job. πŸ˜‰ Yup, I had SO much fun! It was really awesome.

        CutePolarBear

        Like

  2. kokodownunder November 14, 2016 / 5:30 am

    HAHAHA! Oh Emma! X’D This made me grin! Just the way you told it, even though it would have been really concerning to not know where your ring was, even after you had been so careful about it. πŸ˜₯ ❀ God is so amazing! That is just a miracle! πŸ˜€ ❀ You know what? That has actually happened to me before when I lost my earring (ACK! JEWELRY! X'D ); I was about eight, and I lost my earring at school. I cried and cried over it, but then that night, I woke up, and I found it in my BED! O_O I was so excited that I ran and woke my parents up to tell them! XD

    Anyhow, I really enjoyed reading this, so thank you so much for writing it! ❀ :* πŸ˜€

    Like

    • Emma November 16, 2016 / 3:27 pm

      Oh my land!! Have you told me this before? This story sounds so familiar; I think you told me this before! but that is just AMAZING! I love it!!!!!!

      Like

      • kokodownunder November 23, 2016 / 5:06 pm

        I might have, but I can’t remember. XD That is funny, though! ❀ πŸ˜€

        Like

Care to comment? Feel free!

