When You’re Wondering What’s Next…

When You're Wondering What's Next | Majestic Adventures

Couple nights ago as I was talking to God, I asked Him the all-important question in my life right now. “Hey God…what’s next?” I’ve reached a point where I’m about to step into a new adventure of life, and I’m trying to figure out what direction God wants me to take.

It was nearly midnight, but I decided to try and flip through my Bible and find some reassuring verses on the future or God’s leading, but nothing was really speaking to me. Feeling only a tad discouraged, I just kind of thought, “Let’s check out Matthew 10.” So I did. Near the end of the chapter, I found these verses I’d underlined earlier, and knew that this was God’s answer to me.

Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? Yet not one of them will fall to the ground outside your Father’s care.  And even the very hairs of your head are all numbered. So don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows. ~Matthew 10:29-31 (NIV)

Reading those verses reminded me. God will take care of me and all the fine-details of my life. He takes care of the sparrows, and I am worth more than many sparrows. God knows everything about me, all down to the very number of hairs that are on my head. And if He takes the time to know that detail about me (one that I don’t even bother to know myself, because why on earth take the time?) then He will most definitely take care of me and my future and everything else.

I don’t need to know what the ten-year-plan is, or the five-year-plan, or even the one year plan. I’m learning to take each step as it comes and to follow God’s guiding and to trust Him, because He knows best. After all,

A man’s mind plans his way [as he journeys through life], But the Lord directs his steps and establishes them. ~Proverbs 16:9 (AMP)

Sometimes its not easy. There have been days where I just want to know what on earth am I going to be doing a year from now? Because I don’t know. Only God knows, and I wish He would fill me in a little bit.

When that happens, I remember that God hasn’t forgotten about me. He’s not up there scratching His head, thinking “Oh…yeah, her. Um…now what?” I remember that God has brought me here, where I am now. And when I look back on everything that God has done in my life up until this point, I know that the verse in Deuteronomy is true.

 Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. ~Deuteronomy 31:6 (NIV) 

There have been times in the past where I think, “Wow, this is huge. I don’t know what’s going to happen. Um, God?”At the time it was hard to see what God was doing, but looking back I can see that God did just what He said He would do. Through the unknowns He lead me, He never left me, and I grew closer to Him in the process. (He also never leaves you even when you know what you’re doing, just to throw that out there!)

Those experiences, those hard times, grew me to be more like Christ. I’m closer to Him now than I was five years ago. I trust Him more now than I did five years ago. I’ve seen how God can take a situation that seems horrible at the time, and grow it into something amazing.

I know the same is true now, as I try to figure out what’s next in my life. When I get that question, “Hey, Emma, what’s the plan?” my response is, “I don’t really have a plan. God’s taking me one step at a time.” (In a world where having “a plan” is the thing, this is sometimes a shocker–but that’s okay! We’re called to be different, right?) God has proven to me in the past how He’s truly got everything in His hand. He won’t lead me wrong. One step at a time is good enough for me.

Someday I will look back on this season in life and think, “Yup, I can see God there where I didn’t see Him in the moment. He was totally working that out, just like He said He would.” Maybe it doesn’t make sense why we went through some rough patches in life. Just trust God, and know that He doesn’t waste anything.

 For My thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways My ways, says the Lord.  For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are My ways higher than your ways and My thoughts than your thoughts. For as the rain and snow come down from the heavens, and return not there again, but water the earth and make it bring forth and sprout, that it may give seed to the sower and bread to the eater, so shall My word be that goes forth out of My mouth: it shall not return to Me void [without producing any effect, useless], but it shall accomplish that which I please and purpose, and it shall prosper in the thing for which I sent it. ~Isaiah 55:8-11 (AMPC)

It’s hard. It really is sometimes. I may not have it all together, but that’s the thing. God doesn’t give up on me. He loves me where I’m at, even on my bad days, but He loves me too much to let me stay that way. He wants to bring me to a place where I am trusting, relying, loving, serving Him 100% of the time. It’s not easy, but it’s worth it. God’s got your best interest at heart. He loves you.

When you’re not sure where you’re headed next,

When you can’t see how this could possibly turn into good,

When you’re not even sure if God remembers that you’re still struggling to hold it all together,

Let go and let God do His thing. He knows where you’re going.

Sometimes life might feel as hopeless as completing a 1000 piece puzzle without any picture on the box to compare it to. Impossible, right?

Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.” ~Matthew 19:26

Not impossible. Because y’all, we got a God that’s bigger than everything. He’s bigger than any mountain that we can or cannot see, bigger than the boogie man, and bigger than the impossibilities of this world.

God takes care and loves the little birdies. You’re worth more than many sparrows.

He loves you.

He’ll never leave you.

Just trust.

When I am afraid, I put my trust in you. In God, whose word I praise—in God I trust and am not afraid… ~Psalm 56:3-4a

 

 

5 thoughts on “When You’re Wondering What’s Next…

  1. kennih1335 November 18, 2016 / 11:38 pm

    Hey Emma, I know we haven’t talked lately, but I still read your blog sometimes!
    This is a great post and has really encouraged me! I’m not so much worried about the future right now, but sometimes I forget how sovereign he is! Thanks for sharing your heart luoeve! ❤ Keemnmdaall! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Emma November 19, 2016 / 4:17 pm

      Aw, thanks Keemnmdaall! I’m glad that it blessed you. ❤ I know, I know, it's something that I think everyone can be reminded of at one time or another. Glad God doesn't give up on us though!!!!! ❤ I love you Ken; I hope we can chat soon. ❤ ~Keemnmdaall 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jirah Merizz December 28, 2016 / 1:01 pm

    Thank you so much for sharing this! I am currently having the situation of not knowing what to do next. I am completing junior high school in March 2017 and after that, I have no idea what to do next! This post helped. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Emma December 28, 2016 / 9:00 pm

      God is right there with you Jirah! He knows your footsteps and will direct your paths. ❤ Prayed a prayer for you. xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

Care to comment? Feel free!

