The Liebster Award – Part II

Hello there everyone!! I am here with the Liebster Award…again! I was nominated by Faith @ I Like That, and even though I did it last year, I thought why not? It’s different questions than last time and since I’ve gathered a few new followers lately I thought I could use this as a get-to-know-me post. So if you’re new, HELLO! I’m glad you’re here! And if you’re a faithful follower, HELLO! I’m glad you’re here!

1) What made you want to start a blog?

It wasn’t my idea. It was my mom’s. She told me I should start a blog to review books and other things since I like to read so much. So I did, and I wrote a few reviews, mostly on the Anne of Green Gables series. Except the more I did it, the more I discovered that I don’t really like to write reviews. Ha! So now I blog about life, God, music, my stories and poems, and whatever else pops into my head. 🙂

2) What does your first name mean?

My first name–Emma–means whole, or universal, but my parents didn’t pick it for that. They wanted a pretty name that wasn’t very popular. Ironically, by the time I was born, Emma was a very popular name. On another note, I am often confused with Emily.

3.) Did you know when you were younger what you wanted to be/do when you grew up? Do you know or have any idea now what you want to do?

When I was five I wanted to be a vet because I liked animals. When I was ten I wanted to be a baker; fourteen, an author. Now I don’t want to do any of those things. College has absolutely zero appeal to me. I believe that you can live a successful life without going to college.

I don’t know what the rest of my life is going to look like, and quite frankly, I’m sick of planning to try and figure it out. I mean “a man may plan his way, but the Lord directs his path.” So what I want to know is, why bother planning when God’s already got it covered? I am seeking Christ in all that I do and letting him direct my path, like the verse.

However I do have a few goals for the here and now. The first is I’d really like to finish my quilt. My grandma and I are making a crazy quilt for my bed. We’re stitching the crazy squares by hand. It’s taken a long time, but I’m so, so excited to get it done, and my anticipation is rising as we are almost finished. 🙂 Second, I’ve been working on a novel off-and-on for almost four years, which I am pretty anxious to finish. The end is in sight!

4.) If you could see yourself from someone else’s perspective, whose perspective would you choose and why? (It could be a family member’s, a friend’s, your local librarian’s, etc.)

Kozmo’s. (That’s my dog.) For a while now I’ve wondered if he loves me or if he just loves the treats I give him. See, the mutt is nearing 12 years old. Age grants certain privileges. I wouldn’t give a two-year-old dog a treat every day, but after 12 years…why not? He’s a good ol’ dog. But when the dog hops up in the morning, wags his tail, and greets me before I’m even down the hall, is it truly me he loves, or the treat he knows is coming to him?

Mmhmm. Yeah.

5.) What was the last book you read? What was your opinion of it? Did you like it, or not so much?

For the past two-ish months I have been addicted to a five-book series about two teenage sisters in medieval Italia. The hitch? They time traveled there. Like what! There’s knights and battles and danger and romance and oh-my-gosh-what-is-going-to-happen-next drama. I could not stop reading. It was so. good. It’s pretty fantastic. I love it so much that I spent my Christmas money to buy the series after reading the first book. They’re the best books I’ve read in a long time. I plan on reading these books again and again and again. (I do that. I’ve read Ella Enchanted 20 times) So without further ado, may I present the River of Time series by Lisa T. Bergren.

 6.) What was the last movie you watched? What was your opinion of it? Did you like it, or no?

TANGLED! I love Tangled! It’s one of my favorite Disney movies, I think. My favorite character is Flynn Rider/Eugene Fitzherbert. I think he’s funny. The whole movie is funny. And I like the songs. It’s just a great movie all ’round, folks.

7.) What is your favorite movie adaptation of a book?

Can I answer this question even if I’ve never read the book that the movie was adapted from? Because…I really like the Lord of the Rings/Hobbit movies, but I haven’t actually read the books… *cringe* (Does it count if I’ve read most of The Hobbit?) Personally, I find Tolkien’s work hard to read. It makes my mind swim and takes me five minutes to finish a page. Dad’s read them and he said that the movies do a pretty good job sticking to the book. That makes The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit an automatic winner.

Otherwise…I’m afraid I wouldn’t have an answer for you.

Actually scratch that. I’d tell you that I like the Love Comes Softly movies. They are nothing like the books (which really bugs me sometimes) but I still enjoy them. It’s probably because I watched the movies before I read the books.

8.) What quote (from a book, movie, or YouTube video) do you find yourself saying often?

Do I do quotes? I don’t know. I speak in song lyrics and blurt random words, but I don’t know if I quote. More likely I’ll do something like this:

Bro: We should have a bonfire tonight.

Me: ♪♫ I was born to be a flame so I’m gonna light a bonfire! Light it up! ♪♫ (Bonfire by Building 429)

Or this…

Mom (after giving the dog a bath): Make sure the dog shakes before he comes back in.

Me: ♪♫ You’ve got to shake, shake, shake, like you’re changed, changed, changed. Brand new looks so good on you, so shake like you’ve been changed! ♪♫ (Shake by Mercy Me)

Or even this…

Mom: Look at the eastern sky this morning. So pretty.

Me: There’s a song about an eastern gate.

Mom: Of course there is. I’m not surprised you know that.

9.) If you could live in any other previous time period, which one would you choose?

I think it’d  be fun to live in the Victorian era and call on people and sip tea with cake and get dressed up to go to fancy balls.

10.) What would you consider your favorite thing to do in your free time? What do you ACTUALLY end up doing in your free time?

This is probably part of the reason it’s taking me a long time to finish my novel.  I sit down to work on my novel but end up doing other things. Like blogging. Which is still writing, just not on my book.

11.) What is one thing that you always want people to remember about you after you’re gone?

Well I hope they’ll remember Jesus. I hope that they’ll see someone whose joy was found in her Savior and did everything for Him. I hope they remember me as someone who radiates the joy of Christ. And I really hope people say “Emma always made me laugh” because I really like to make people smile and laugh. Makes me happy.


In lieu of nominations, I’m going to ask YOU some questions. Just answer ’em in the comments. 🙂

  1.  What is your favorite cartoon?
  2.  Are you a hat person?
  3. Do you enjoy a good mess or are you a everything-has-to-be-in-its-place kind of person?

I look forward to hearing from you!

xoxo

Em

3 thoughts on “The Liebster Award – Part II

  1. Christian Homeschooler March 13, 2017 / 8:59 pm

    I enjoyed reading this post! 🙂
    Here are my answers to your questions:
    I’m not sure what you mean by cartoon, but if it means comics, then I really like Calvin and Hobbes, Peanuts, and Dilbert.
    No, I don’t wear hats, except for my snow hat.
    I really don’t like messes, but my spaces tend to get that way sometimes. I really do like when things are all clean. 🙂
    ~Christian Homeschooler

    Liked by 1 person

    • Emma March 18, 2017 / 12:51 pm

      I’m glad to hear that!
      Oh, I meant a cartoon you watch on TV, but comics are awesome! My mom really likes Calvin and Hobbes too, and I like Snoopy. 😀
      Cool!
      I like things to be cleaned and organized too–I like to be able to find things when I look for them!!

      Liked by 1 person

Care to comment? Feel free!

