Today Was A Good Day

Today was a good day. I didn’t do anything exceptional; I went to church, read some Trixie Belden with my mom, and went for a drive with my both my parents. We got ice cream, my parents went down Memory Lane as we drove, and I enjoyed wearing my big floppy sunhat. (I love hats.)

Today was a day to rest and enjoy the beauty around me. See, I struggle with the whole productivity thing. I have to be so productive in a day in order for that day to be worth something. For my time not to be wasted. But, as others have been telling me and God has slowly been teaching me, that’s not a good way to think. My worth doesn’t come from how many things I check off my to-do list. It comes from my Savior Jesus. He says I am His child and He loves me with an everlasting love. I am God’s treasured possession. (Exodus 19:5) Nothing changes that. I can rest in the fact that God’s love for me isn’t based on how many things I do. It’s okay for me to set aside the list, take a breather, and do nothing for a while.

Today was a day to let go of the busyness and chill. Believe me–I know how good it feels to have all those neat little check marks on your list, whether that list is on paper or in your head. But as I’m discovering here…it also feels good to sit and be. To notice the warmth of the sunshine and the bright green of new leaves–and not as I’m zipping around the house doing thisorthat. To sit, to relax, to close my eyes and thank Jesus for what He’s given me. While to-do lists help to be organized, they can also be stress factors if they’re not kept in their place.

Enjoy the day. For those of you who have a similar mindset of productivity=time well spent, don’t be afraid to take a deep breath, set aside the list for a day, and refresh. Rejuvenate. Sing a song, read a book, take a walk. You have time to get those things checked off. Your worth is from Jesus, not the number of check marks on your list. And whatever you do, whether it’s being productive or enjoying the day, love the Lord while doing it. That’s the most important thing, as I was reminded not too long ago. No matter what I do, love the Lord…

 “Teacher, which is the greatest commandment in the Law?”

Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment.  And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’       Matthew 22:36-39

 

…and enjoy the day.

Lots of love,

Emma xo

7 thoughts on “Today Was A Good Day

  1. kokodownunder May 19, 2017 / 6:04 am

    Wow, you wrote this almost a month ago but I only saw it now—and it just turns out that today is the day I needed to hear this! 😀 God is good! This is beautiful and so true, Emma! Thank you! 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Emma May 19, 2017 / 11:19 am

      Wow, thanks Lord! That’s awesome!! I love to hear things like that. It’s amazing how God prepares encouragement for us even before we need it because He’s not limited by time and knows we’re gonna need it soon. Love you!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. ~ Sarah ~ September 11, 2017 / 5:30 am

    So true, Emma!! :O I have the same mindset a lot of the time. I’m very hard on myself if I don’t achieve what I think is enough things on my to-do list. But, like you, God’s been helping me to appreciate life and Him and for that to be enough. If I have extra time to tick a few things off – bonus! XD This totally spoke to me! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Care to comment? Feel free!