Encouragement for the Discouraged Writer

I should be writing on my novel right now, but frankly, I’m a little overwhelmed at the moment. I am smack dab in the middle of editing 60,000 words for the third time, page 65/114 to be exact, and I just realized that I have a bunch of scenes that I need to rearrange. I’ve been fine-tuning my timeline this time around and now need to make it all fit together, something I thought I’d been doing pretty well with…until now, that is.

It’s a little overwhelming.

This is not to say that I don’t love my story, because that isn’t the case at all! This is the story of my heart, the story that God has called me to write, and I love it so much. In fact, I know that when I’m finished, 100% done with it, I’m going to miss working on it. It’s just that, like everything, it’s difficult sometimes. To the point where letting it sit seems like a pretty good option, even if it does get me no where.

But that doesn’t mean it’s not worth doing.

I look forward to the day where I finish editing the last line and click Save. I look forward to using up a load of ink and copy paper to print off my masterpiece. I look forward to measuring that stack of paper with a ruler to see how thick it is, and sharing my excitement with my family and friends who have encouraged me as I’ve written it. I look forward to holding a physical copy of it in my hands and paging through it, seeing all the words that I have written.

The thing is, I’ll never be able to experience that sense of satisfaction, joy, exhilaration, and excitement if I don’t climb the mountain first. The mountain can be anything that makes writing difficult for you right now. Plotting and outlining that’s not going well, description and/or characters that seem flat, not quite sure how to get your thoughts on paper. Realizing that, after having completed the first draft, you have a lot of work ahead of you to make anything decently readable. For me, it’s knowing that I need to rearrange and major-edit some scenes to make them work with what I’ve got going on now.

And yeah, it can be really discouraging sometimes, but like I said, if you don’t work through the hard stuff, climb up the mountain, you’ll never get to savor the result at the end, or enjoy the beauty of the view at the top.

Sometimes I think that it won’t be any good when I get done, hard work or not. Sometimes I think, “I do things differently than this-famous-author-person, so maybe it’s not as good.” So let me remind you (and myself) that what you have to say? It matters. Why? Because you matter. Everyone has a unique voice with something unique to say. On the subject of writing, one guy said, “I could tell 100 different students to write a story about pirates on ship and get 100 different stories.” And this is not a bad thing! Everyone tells stories differently because they have their own voice, perspective, and imagination. So just because you have a different approach or style to writing, doesn’t mean that it’s bad or you’re not a “good enough” writer. Strive towards improvement and honing your skill and create something that is uniquely you!

The story that I’m writing, I’m writing for me, and I’m writing for God. Having other people read it (eventually-maybe-probably) is just a plus! I don’t know what God wants me to do with it when it’s done. Maybe nothing, maybe something. Who knows! The struggle is still real though, because I still want to create something that’s of good quality, you know? Even if I’m the only one who ever reads but especially if other people read it!!

So when those hard days of writing hit, remember: It will be worth it. If it’s the story of your heart, the story that you want to get on paper, the story that you feel called to write…don’t give up. Keep on keepin’ on, and don’t give up. Hard work can be a reminder of what will be produced: a masterpiece. Haha, I know, I know! So easy for me to say, right? Yeah, but it’s also true…so…easy or not, don’t give up! The hard work is worth it!

You got this, writer! *fistbump*

PS…if you want, check out Go Teen Writers. It’s my favorite writing site. Pretty good stuff!

Save

8 thoughts on “Encouragement for the Discouraged Writer

  1. Jacqueline May 18, 2017 / 7:00 pm

    Wonderfully put!! Somehow you always know exactly what to say. πŸ™‚ I’m a lot farther down the hill, but I’m getting there…. in 20 years. XD If you wouldn’t mind, I’d absolutely love to read it when you’re finished!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Emma May 19, 2017 / 11:17 am

      Hahahaha! Slow but steady wins the race, right? Don’t worry about it taking a while…I’ve been working on this one for four years! Aw, alright! I would be honored to have you read it. πŸ˜€

      Like

  2. kokodownunder May 19, 2017 / 6:17 am

    This was so encouraging, Emma. ❀ I am really enjoying watching you work through this processβ€”and I really look forward to seeing your masterpiece become a finished masterpiece! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Emma May 19, 2017 / 11:18 am

      It was actually pretty encouraging to me too…it was sort of a pep talk to myself in a way, haha! so I am doubly glad that it was encouraging to others as well. Thank you for standing by me the whole time I’ve been working on this Koko!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Zielle May 28, 2017 / 5:51 am

    This was really great and very encouraging, Emma! I’d love to read your book if you end up publishing it. πŸ˜‰
    P.S Miss you on KFW (although you’re not a kid anymore πŸ˜› )

    Like

    • Emma June 1, 2017 / 11:58 am

      Oh good, thank you! πŸ™‚ Aw, you’re so sweet! Who knows if I’ll end up published someday…guess we’ll have to see, huh? πŸ˜‰
      In response to your PS πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚ – Ahh! I know, I kind of outgrew it…sad! I’m glad we can talk on here though!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Zielle June 1, 2017 / 6:00 pm

        You’re welcome! πŸ™‚
        πŸ˜‰ Yes, you did! Are you part of the adult site now? I’m still on the kids one. πŸ˜› There are literally like 5 active users on there… :/ Yes, me too! Sorry I haven’t visited your blog for a while though! ❀

        Like

      • Emma June 2, 2017 / 9:48 pm

        No, I’m not. But then too, I haven’t been writing short stories as much, mostly working on my novel! So I have nothing to post lol. I have another blog that I have been posting my poems on though, called Stories N Stuff. (There’s a tab for it up at the top next to Welcome.) So then when I do have things that I’ve completed, that’s where they end up! Oh and that’s okay!!!!!

        Liked by 1 person

Care to comment? Feel free!

