God Hugs & Purple Earrings

If you’ve been a follower of my modest and sporadically up-kept blog for a while, you most likely are familiar with my tendency to lose or misplace things. It happens enough that those who know me–most notably my husband and mother–are no longer the least bit surprised when I proclaim, “Oh no! It’ gone!”

When it comes to losing jewelry, I’ve reached the point where if it’s gone, it’s gone; there are others. Too many really cute earrings have slipped away over the years, and it’s just not practical for me to cry over each and every one. My assortment of Chuck Taylors would be abandoned for rubber rain boots as I muddle through puddles of tears.

So I’m sure you can guess the story I am about to tell you now!

Sunday afternoon, two of my sister-in-laws and I went to the big lake to enjoy a day of tanning, swimming, and ukulele-playing. It was beautiful weather with sunny, bright blue skies accompanied by a cooling breeze.

My sis-in-law A and I took to the water, laughing and shrieking as the waves crashed over us. After one particularly large wave swept over us, I blinked the water away and (plot twist) saw that A was missing one of her purple flower studs.

“No, I’m not!” Her hand went to her ear, where she found only the back of the earring.

More waves continued to roll, and the water was murky with sand. We searched for a moment, even walked a few feet toward the shore in hopes that it would be swirling its way to the beach, but to no avail.

A was disappointed. We turned back to the waves and picked up on our abandoned conversation as we bobbed along with water.

Five minutes and many waves later, my right foot landed on something with an edge to it. “I stepped on something.”

A’s eyes went wide. “No, you did not!”

A wave hit me and I struggled to stay in place, lest I lose whatever-it-was. “Yes, I did!”

“Well grab it!”

I dove down as another wave rolled by and grabbed a handful of sand. I opened up my palm and to our shock and utter delight, there in my hand was A’s purple earring!

That made my day.

When I recounted it to my husband that night, my eyes welled with tears. We swam around quite a bit, not always realizing we were drifting further down the shoreline. The waves were nonstop. The sand was swirling around. Yet five minutes after we searched halfheartedly for this earring, I found it by happenstance.

Or was it happenstance? I think that Sunday afternoon, our finding the earring was a little hug from God. There were too many variables; the chances of us finding it were slim to none. It had to be God. A gift to A, whose disappointment was turned to joy. A reminder to me of God’s presence. And while I have not found every piece of jewelry I’ve ever lost, finding that purple earring was God’s whisper to my heart. It’s hard to put it into words. Maybe some think it’s silly to find such deep meaning behind a prodigal earring. All I know is that it made me so happy and reminded me that God sees and cares about the littlest things in our life. So yeah, it was a God hug.

Anyways, that’s me, y’all. Catch ya later. ❤

Much love,

Em xx

Care to comment? Feel free!