A Prayer for the New Year

Seeing as how I kind of already did an end-of-the-year wrap up post, today’s post will be a little bit shorter. At least that’s the game plan, y’all know how I am once I get started talking. Or, in this case, writing.

Sometimes at work I have a hard time focusing. There can be a variety of reasons for this. I could have a lot on my mind, irritating customers, unresolved issues with friends or family… The list goes on, and I’m sure you can fill in the blank with your own answers to the question, “What are things that make you have a hard time focusing?”

And sometimes, to get my mind back away from whatever downward spiral I’m on, I need to stop a quick second and breathe. I need to write something down to get my focus off the problem and back onto God. Written word helps orient me better than if I’d merely pray in my head. I’m not saying that silent prayer is ineffective by any means, but I’ve personally found that if I want to get my head on straight again, it is most effective for me to write because that’s one of the best ways I focus.

I am a writer, after all. đŸ˜‰

What do I write in these moments of struggle? Many things. Sometimes I write one of God’s names, like Jehovah Shalom (The Lord is Peace) or Jehovah Shammah (The Lord is There). Sometimes it’s a Bible verse, like Philippians 4:6 or John 14:27.

And sometimes, it’s a prayer. I saved one prayer I’d scribbled down at work and taped it to my bedroom wall. I reread it every now and again, and this is the prayer that I’ve decided to take into 2020 with me. It’s a prayer of focus, a prayer of submission, a prayer of open hands.

I don’t know what 2020 brings, but I’m going to hold tight to my Savior’s hand and settle my focus on Him every step of the way.

May my eyes be focused on You as my feet travel Your way and my hands accomplish Your will. For you are my strength and my portion forever, who enables me to rise up on wings like eagles. I pray for Your love to fill me and that I would share the hope we have in Your name. Bind up the brokenhearted, Lord, and anoint them with joy instead of mourning. In Your Name there is freedom. In Your Name there is love. In Your Name alone is there saving grace. May I demonstrate and share these things everyday, loving not only in words or speech but with actions and in truth. Amen.

 

Care to comment? Feel free!